Letters From Tamriel

An epistolary gaming blog

Happy Birthday, ESO!

@Zells - sepia stone - smallI wasn’t going to use the experience point boost from the Jubilee Cake Memento (although yes, I did pick it up, I’m a completeist like that) because both my mains are having a problem with out-pacing the quests in their zones, so more experience point accumulation is actually a bad thing, currently.  With the 10% exp boost from subscribing, quests are starting to go grey before I get to them, even the main war quests.  I’m going to have to start skipping the miscellaneous and side quests, which is sad because a) that “completeist” thing and b)  I really do like the flavor and depth from the world that you get by interacting with all the locals.

But then I realized I have a bunch of crafting alts who need skill points, and a +100% exp boost was a great opportunity to bank points for later as their skills improve.  So last night I took my woodworker out (Zell-zahara, you haven’t met her yet), used the cake, and racked up 8 skill points in about 3 hours of play, which isn’t bad at all.  Probably this weekend I’ll be accumulating points for Issa and Vashta as well, which will save me a lot of time later.  It does still feel a bit like cheating, but I don’t feel like I’m skipping over content because I’ve done it previously with mains.  Some people do this mad rush to endgame, even at first play-through, and I’ve never understood that – endgame is not more real or valid than any other part… if you like the game, why leap-frog past huge sections of it?

At any rate: Happy Birthday, ESO.  I’m sorry I couldn’t be there when you were born, sweetie, but we’re together now. 🙂

Chef and Jubilee Cake - ESO 2nd yr birthday

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

