Letters From Tamriel

An epistolary gaming blog

Zellfire, to Divayth

Zellfire close upSer Paatr,

I mentioned I had met Queen Ayrenn, and that it appeared she had taken me into her confidence.  I understated the matter somewhat, primarily because I assumed the warm demeanor was merely a gambit on her part.  It seemed inconceivable someone well trained in high court politics would so readily adopt a near-stranger into her inner circle.  It was more likely she recognized the name of my house and was attempting to curry favor from you, rather than wishing to form any real connection with me.

Apparently, however, it was no front.  Despite my name, my associations with the Telvanni, a thousand other details a Queen should certainly be expected to notice, she nonetheless assumes I am an Altmer.  Her rebellious days as an adventurer have not been misconstrued by rumor; deep in her heart she is truly a wild thing, and she still yearns to explore tombs and tussle with bandits, rather than ruling.  I originally cursed inwardly that I met her straight off the road, still covered in dust with fresh gouges in my staff and scorch marks on my robes, but now I understand it was the best possible introduction.  She trusts me, far more than she should, partly because she believes she sees herself in me; she has outright said as much.

Enough preamble; I have incredible, impossible news: the Orrery at Elden Root is once again functional.  It was not an easy task to accomplish, and it’s entirely possible that a Khajiit god is now angry with me, but I am certainly not fond of him, either, the rapacious bastard.  That’s a fight for another day, however, and it did have a purpose.  The Orrery was reconstructed and brought back to life because the Bosmer insisted they needed divine proof of the Queen’s right to rule, proof that only the Orrery could provide… they then tasked the Queen (or, more properly, the Queen’s agents) with finding the items necessary to reinvigorate the ancient machine and bring it back to life.  When the Bosmer mages explained the mantle of a god was needed to re-spark the Orrery, I had to repress a laugh – of all the ways to passively block Queen Ayrenn’s ascension, requiring her champion to take on a god is actually a fairly intelligent choice.  But I was successful.

The trick required the Khajiit god’s mantle because in order to fire the machine an operator has to be in three places simultaneously to manipulate the controls; the god’s mantle allowed this.  But you have other ways of being in three places at once, do you not?  It seems to me that some of the Ayleid ruins in your journals might be worth re-visiting, with this trick in mind.  Perhaps there’s another Orrery still undamaged enough to function, if fired correctly.

I am, of course, including a complete, detailed report of the machine’s functions, with sketches of the controls and relevant information about the Orrery’s construction, astral alignments, and other esoteric data you will require.

One additional note of import: Prince Naemon is dead.  The official story is that he died a hero.  The truth is that he attempted to subvert Ayrenn’s ascension by diving into the Orrery before her and claiming the right to rule for himself.  The machine transformed him to a monster, and I was finally allowed the joy of killing him, which – to be perfectly frank – has long needed doing.  It was obvious he was at least tacitly involved in his wife’s coup attempt, and if Ayrenn weren’t so soft she would have ordered his execution immediately after we discovered the depth of Esme’s treachery.  I started to suggest it, but understood it would have damaged Ayrenn’s trust in me, and it seemed reasonable to assume I’d be given a chance to kill him later, so I waited and the chance did indeed come to pass.

That is more than enough for now.  I will cease my ramblings and let you turn to the Orrery’s schematics, assuming you have not already done so.

Your Flame,
Seraphiira

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

