Letters From Tamriel

An epistolary gaming blog

Quotes from Tamriel

“Bloody business, war.  There was a time when I loved my axe for its sharpness and my armor for its shine, but no more.  Today I love what they defend.  Don’t lose sight of what’s behind you in the hatred of what’s before you.”
-Lyris Titanborn

When I started this blog, I had no intention of ever posting personal comments, let alone political commentary, but it’s been a long week and I feel I must say something important.

To my international friends: many of us are deeply embarrassed by the election and do not support the bigotry and hatred represented by the campaign that won the electoral college.  We are fighting, and we will continue to fight – not only because we hate what we see coming, but also because we love: we love our Jewish grandmothers and our Hispanic neighbors and our gay nephews and our black professors and our Muslim in-laws.  We love each other, and this crazy, melting-pot experiment of a country, and we will fight to defend the ideals upon which it was founded.

Hatred is blind and destructive; love sees and defends.  I will defend.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

