Letters From Tamriel

An epistolary gaming blog

Too Many Cool Things!

@Zells - sepia stone - small

The Witches Festival is in full swing, and it’s a great opportunity to grind some World Bosses (Umbra needs a Mother’s Sorrow staff), but the Clockwork City is now open, too… I want to take a week off work and set a new record for uninterrupted hours of gaming.  (Current record: 37.  But Winter Break is coming.)  Too many cool things, is my problem.  Not a bad problem. 🙂

Clockwork City will win out, I think.  Theoretically I could concentrate on that after the Festival is over, but… it’s very shiny, y’all.  Very, very shiny.  Literally – I can’t believe the sparkle on the leaves of Sotha Sil’s brass-leaved trees – and in the Firefly sense as well.  Also: Divayth Fyr is a major character in the story so far, and as you all know, I have a thing about him.  So shiny.  I just wanna follow Divayth around and listen to him snark about “Sil” for hours.

In other Things-Sucking-Away-Zells’-Time news, I had a whole running slew of technical issues trying to find a way to first record and then edit my gameplay for YouTube videos.  And then a bunch more issues trying to do the voice-over narration.  But at this point I believe everything is solved.  I want at least a couple completely finished before I start posting them, and I’m working out a mistake in the audio for the first “Meet Zells” introduction video, but I’m hoping to have that first vid up next week.  I’ll post a link here when it’s up and running.

Totally Random Minutia:
Does it strike anyone else as funny that there’s a huge storyline in Clockwork City about how they don’t have fresh food and have to eat paste, but every crate and box has Provisioning ingredients just like normal?  I wish the loot lists had been changed; there shouldn’t be food available.  But I also have a quibble about the fact that I can enter a dungeon that hasn’t been touched in thousands of years and find fresh lemons and bread.  And how does a heavy armor cuirass drop from an ice wisp?  Why can we read the books on Ayleid bookshelves when reading and translating Ayleid is a skill only a select few have mastered?  These are the questions that keep me up at night.

It’s possible that I sometimes overthink things. 🙂  Happy Friday everyone!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment